Dr. Ronald Cervero

Adult, Workforce, & Continuing Professional Education

Proudly Presents Distinguished Lecturer

Dr. Ronald Cervero

Associate Vice President of Instruction

The University of Georgia

Lifelong Professional Development Through Practice-Based Education

Wednesday, April 1, 2015

Reception begins at 4:45 PM in Poe Hall Atrium

Lecture begins at 5:30 PM in Poe Hall 216

Professional Biography

Ronald M. Cervero is Professor and Associate Vice President for Instruction at The University of Georgia. He founded the Institute for Evidence-Based Health Professions Education, which included all health professions colleges and programs at UGA. He earned his M.A. in the social sciences and his Ph.D. in adult education at The University of Chicago. Professor Cervero has published extensively, with particular emphasis in the areas of continuing education for the professions and the politics of adult education. Of his six books, three have won national awards including the 1989 Cyril O. Houle World Award for Literature in Adult Education (Effective Continuing Education for Professionals, 1988, Jossey-Bass). His most recent book, Working the Planning Table: Negotiating Democratically for Adult, Continuing, and Workplace Education(Jossey-Bass, 2006), received the 2006 Houle Award for Literature in Adult Education. He has also written Planning Responsibly for Adult Education: A Guide to Negotiating Power and Interests (1994, Jossey-Bass) and was the editor forPower in Practice: Adult Education and the Struggle for Knowledge and Power in Society (2001, Jossey-Bass). He has received the Imogene Okes Award for Research three times from the American Association for Adult and Continuing Education for his research into the politics of education. He has served in a variety of leadership positions in adult education including the editorship of Adult Education Quarterly, the Commission of Professors of Adult Education, and the Adult Education Research Conference. He has been a visiting faculty member at the Teachers College-Columbia University, the University of Calgary, the University of Tennessee, the University of Wisconsin-Madison, the University of British Columbia, and Pennsylvania State University.